RRC ID 271
Author Takehana Y, Naruse K, Sakaizumi M.
Title Molecular phylogeny of the medaka fishes genus Oryzias (Beloniformes: Adrianichthyidae) based on nuclear and mitochondrial DNA sequences.
Journal Mol. Phylogenet. Evol.
Abstract The phylogenetic relationships among medaka fishes of 2 genera, Oryzias and Xenopoecilus, were studied using the nuclear tyrosinase and mitochondrial 12S and 16S rRNA genes. Of the 23 species currently described for these genera, 13 species of Oryzias and 2 species of Xenopoecilus were examined. The tree topologies obtained from the nuclear and mitochondrial data were consistent, indicating that Xenopoecilus is a polyphyletic genus nested within Oryzias. This result suggested the necessity for a systematic study and taxonomic revision of Xenopoecilus. The combined data analysis of all data partitions resulted in a well-resolved tree, with most internal branches supported by high statistical values. Based on our combined data phylogeny, we divided the Oryzias species into three major species groups, namely the latipes, javanicus, and celebensis groups. These three groups corresponded to the three chromosomal groups (biarmed, monoarmed, and fused chromosome groups) previously proposed from karyological analyses. The phylogeographic pattern suggests historical vicariance between Sulawesi Island and the continental shelf.
Volume 36(2)
Pages 417-28
Published 2005-8
DOI 10.1016/j.ympev.2005.01.016
PII S1055-7903(05)00034-5
PMID 15955519
MeSH Animals Asia, Southeastern Base Sequence Beloniformes / classification Beloniformes / genetics* Cell Nucleus / genetics* DNA / chemistry DNA / genetics DNA, Mitochondrial / chemistry DNA, Mitochondrial / genetics* Genetic Variation Geography Molecular Sequence Data Monophenol Monooxygenase / genetics Oryzias / classification Oryzias / genetics* Phylogeny* RNA, Ribosomal / genetics RNA, Ribosomal, 16S / genetics Sequence Analysis, DNA Sequence Homology, Nucleic Acid
IF 4.412
Times Cited 63
Medaka O. celebensis O. curvinotus O. dancena O. hubbsi (RS273) O. javanicus (RS831) O. luzonensis (RS270) O. marmoratus (RS280) O. matanensis (RS281) O. mekongensis O. minutillus O. nigrimas (RS282) O. profundicola (RS283) X. sarasinorum (RS1067)